About Our Organization

Our Mission, Oath and Law

Mission: To prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

Oath: On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; To help other people at all times; To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

Law: A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean and reverent.

About the Council

The Yocona Area Council, Boy Scouts of America serves 12 counties in Northeast Mississippi including: Alcorn, Benton, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Prentiss, Pontotoc, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, and Yalobusha. The council headquarters is located in Tupelo, MS.  

The Yocona Area Council, supported by 1,100 volunteers, and 130 chartered partners, serves over 4,000 youth annually in the following programs: Cub  Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing, Sea Scouts, Learning for Life, and Exploring.

The Yocona Area Council is a chartered council of the Boy Scouts of America, a member of the World Organization of the Scout Movement

Vision Statement
Executive Committee
Council Officers
Council Staff
Contact Information

United Way

Council Map
Our Vision

The Boy Scouts of America is the nation's foremost youth program of character development and values-based leadership training.

In the future Scouting will continue to

  • Offer young people responsible fun and adventure;
  • Instill in young people lifetime values and develop in them ethical character as expressed in the Scout Oath and Law;
  • Train young people in citizenship, service, and leadership;
  • Serve America's communities and families with its quality, values-based program


Executive Committee and Board of Directors

The Yocona Area Council is governed by an executive board of business and community leaders, representing all areas within the council's boundaries. The board guides local council policy, oversees the fiscal management of the council and hires a scout executive and staff responsible for the day-to-day operations of the council and for recruiting volunteers to make these operations successful.

2021 Council Officers and Chairman


Council Officers

Council President, Sean Akins (Ripley)

Council Commissioner, Rusty Rasberry (Oxford)

Executive Vice President, Ronnie Bell (Tupelo)

Vice President Admin, BJ Canup (Fulton)

Vice President Fund Development, Ronnie Bell (Tupelo)

Vice President Membership, Lindsey Leake (Tupelo)

Vice President Finance, Bob Glover (Ripley)

Vice President Program, Vance Perkins (Tupelo)

Vice President District Operations, John Mulkey (Oxford)

Vice President Marketing and Communications, Greg Burks (Belden)

Council Treasurer, Brian Reithel (Oxford)



International Scouting Representative: Mark Lovil

Council Committee Chairs: Lynn Bryan, Debbie Dabbs, Dale Hayes, Donnie Kisner, Randy Long, Robin McGraw, Aubrey Patterson, David Rumbarger, Britt Smith, Greg Wall

OA Lodge Advisor: Vance Perkins

OA Lodge Chief (also a youth member) : Landon N.

Council Youth Board Member: Keerthin K.

District Leadership

Apilachi District Chair, Bill Calhoun

Apilachi District Commissioner, Jim Smallwood

Apilachi District Executive, Paige Kelly


Chicksa District Chair, Johnny Price

Chicksa District Commissioner, Ben Farr

Chicksa Sr. District Executive, Joseph Connole


Jacinto District Chair, TBA

Jacinto District Commissioner, Brian Clausel

Jacinto District Executive, Seth Roberts


National/Regional Board Members from the Yocona Area Council: Marshall Hollis and David Rumbarger

Representatives to the National Council: Sean Akins and Rusty Rasberry

Scout Executive: Owen McCulloch




Address: 505 Air Park Road, Tupelo, MS 38801
Contact Name: Susanne Montgomery
Email: susanne.montgomery@scouting.org
Phone: 662-842-2871
Fax: (662) 842-2875


  Contact Us Subscribe to our Email List Stay Connected  
   Yocona Area Council
505 Air Park Road
Tupelo, MS 38801
(662) 842-2871

©2008-2014 Yocona Area Council
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Stay informed by signing up for our Email updates
Facebook Link Twitter Link Newsletter / Blog You Tube Link
Chicksa.org CampYocona.org Scouting.org Council Calendar
  DoubleKnot Login
  Create an Account